NationPress ReleaseSportsTRENDING

SWAG releases list of top performers for 2019 ahead of its 45th Awards Night


The Sports Writers’ Association of Ghana (SWAG) has released the 2019 sports top performers for honors for the 45th SWAG Awards in Accra.

In a statement signed by General Secretary Charles Osei Asibey, it said the short listed nominees went through a careful but rigorous process in choosing who deserve an honor.

In all, 27 sportsmen and women together with Sports Administrators and institutions will be rewarded for excellence.

SWAG will on the night decorate its past presidents Hon Joe Aggrey and Mr. Oheneba Charles for their enormous contribution to SWAG and the Sports industry in Ghana.

SWAG has introduced the “SWAG Sports Journalist of the Year” category and the nominees will be announced later.

The 45th MTN SWAG Awards will be held at the Accra International Conference Center in the New Year.

Full List Below :

Personality of the Year

  1. Richard Oblitey Commey
  2. 4X100mts Relay Team
  3. Botso Nkegbe

National Team of the Year

  1. Weightlifting
  2. 4×4 Relay Team

Footballer of the Year (Male)

  1. Jordan Ayew
  2. Mubarak Wakaso
  3. Thomas Partey


Footballer of the Year (Female)

  1. Grace Asantewaa
  2. Janet Egyiri
  3. Elizabeth Addo

Footballer of the Player (Local)

  1. Joseph Essau
  2. Felix Annan
  3. Shafiu Mumuni

Coach of the Year

  1. Nii Otoo Larkyne (Weightlifting)

Professional Boxer of the Year

  1. Richard Oblitey Commey

Amateur Boxer of the Year

  1. Shakur Samed

Female Athlete of the Year

  1. Nadia Eke (Triple Jumper)
  2. Deborah Acquah (Long Jumper)
  3. Rose Yeboah Amoanimaah (High Jumper)

Male Athlete of the Year

  1. Joseph Paul Amoah (4x100m Relay Team)
  2. Benjamin Kwaku Azamati (4x100m Relay Team)

Para-Athlete of the Year

Raphael Botsyo NkegbTam

Table Tennis Player of the Year

  1. Emmanuel Commey

Prospect of the Year

  1. Rose Amoanimaa
  2. Nuhu Gado Ibrahim
  3. Grace Obour


Rugby Player of the Year

  1. Anita Halm – Female
  2. Alex Dorpenyo – Male

Armwrestler of the Year

  1. Derrick Kwakye – Male
  2. Grace Mintah – Female

Weightlifters of the Year

  1. Christian Amoah(Male)
  2. Winnifred Ntumi(Female)

Hockey Player of the Year (Male)

  1. Ernest Opoku
  2. Emmanuel Ankomah
  3. Eugene Acheampong

Hockey Player of the Year (Female)

  1. Mavis Berko
  2. Elizabeth Opoku
  3. Nafisatu Umaru


  1. Armwrestling
  2. Badminton
  3. Weightlifting
  4. Athletics
  5. Rugby

Dedication and Valour

  1. Saani Dendem – Anokye Stars

Professional Golfer of the Year

  1. Vincent Torgah
  2. Emos Korblah
  3. Kojo Barnni

Taekwondo Athlete of the Year

  1. Henrietta Naa Ayele Armah – Female
  2. Benson Nii Adom Addo – Male


Special and Meritorious Awards

  1. Oteng Aboagye
  2. Abdul Haye Yartey
  3. Richard Akporkavie
  4. Nii Odartey Lamptey
  5. Beach Volleyball Team

Corporate Award

  1. MTN
  2. ABL
  3. Ghana Gas
  4. Goil
  5. TT Brothers

President’s Award

  1. Hon Joe Aggrey
  2. Oheneba Charles



Source :


SWAG inaugurates Bono branches, charges sports media to join association

Previous article

PRESS RELEASE : SWAG Sports Journalist of the Year Award Committee

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Nation