Swag Cup


The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Cup match is a ceremonial game played at the end of the season between two exciting clubs in the League to generate revenue for activities of SWAG eg the Awards Night. Mysterious Ebusua Dwarfs are on record to be the first winners in 1972.

The match is played to honour ex- GFA and Hearts of Oak Director, Henry Plange Nyemitei, popularly known as H.P. Nyemitei, who also worked at the SIC Insurance Company who are sponsors of match. The tournament has been an avenue for the display of unknown players who later become stars and super stars. The clubs create surprises and the fans love the SWAG CUP.


  • Asante Kotoko have won the trophy 12 times
  • Hearts of Oak have won the trophy 5 times
  • AshantiGold have won the trophy 4 times

Some of the exciting clubs featured are Dwarfs, Dumas Boys, Tano Bofoakwa, Eleven Wise, Hasaacas, Okwahu United, All Blacks, AshantiGold, Heart of Lions, Liberty Professionals and now Medeama.


1972 Mysterious Dwarfs (Cape Coast)

1973 Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1974 Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1975 Tano Bofoakwa (Sunyani)

1976 Dumas Boys of GTP (Tema)

1977 Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1978 Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1979 Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1980 Eleven Wise (Sekondi)

1981 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1982 Hasaacas (Sekondi)

1983 Hasaacas (Sekondi)

1984 Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1985 Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1986 Asante Kototo (Kumasi)

1987 Okwahu United (Nkawkaw)

1988 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1989 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1990 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1991 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1992 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1993 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1994 Goldfields (Obuasi)

1995 Goldfields (Obuasi)

1996 No Competition

1997 All Black (Swedru)

1998 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1999 No Competition

2000 Asante Kotoko

2001 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2002 No Competition

2003 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2004 No Competition

2005 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2006 AshantiGold (Obuasi)

2007 Liberty Professionals (Accra)

2008 Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2009 Heart of Lions (Kpando)

2010 AshantiGold (Obuasi)

2011 No Competition

2012 No Competition

Compiled by

SWAG Archives Director/ Deputy General Secretary (DGS)

Thomas Boakye-Agyemang

Celebrating The Greatness!

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *