Press ReleaseSportsTRENDING

Christian Amoah and Winifred Ntumi win 2019 MTN SWAG Award Weightlifters of the Year



The MTN SWAG Awards, organized by the Sports Writers Association of Ghana, which seeks to recognise and appreciate athletes for a job well done in the year under review have presented weight lifters Winifred Ntumi and Christian Amoah athletes of the year in their federation.

The SWAG Awards, whose headline sponsor is telcos giants MTN is the longest-reigning award scheme in Ghana.

An innovation by SWAG to properly celebrate individual athletes, SWAG through a special presentation has honoured deserving athletes for their tremendous performance in 2019.

Captain of Black Cranes Christian Amoah, decorated with the 2019 SWAG Weightlifter of the Year won 8 medals in the year under review.

Christian grabbed 3 Gold medals in the Africa Weightlifting
Junior Championships in Uganda, 3 Bronze medals in the African Games
in Morocco and 2 Bronze medals in African Weightlifting Championships in Egypt putting him above his colleagues and worthy of the title.

The ever cheerful and unassuming Winnifred Ntumi beat all to be crowned 2019 SWAG Female Weightlifter of the Year.

Miss Ntuni won a bronze medal at the 2019 African
Weightlifting Championship,
competing in the 49 kg category.

She later won 3 Bronze medals in the 2019 Africa
Games in Morocco in the women’s 45kg category and for competing in
the women’s 45 kg category.

A total of 7 medals, and certificates from
various international competitions in the year made Miss Ntumi beat all female weightlifters to the award.

The 45th edition of the MTN SWAG awards will be held at the SWISS SpiritAlisa Hotel on October 10, 2020, with strict compliance to the COVID-19 protocols.

By : Akosua Adjei


Henrietta Armah and Benson Addo are SWAG Taekwondo Athletes of the Year

Previous article

45th MTN SWAG Awards – Shakur Samed crowned Amateur Boxer of the year

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *