Samuel Takyi crowned SWAG Sports Personality of the Year


Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games bronze medalist, Samuel Takyi, was crowned the Sports Writers’ Association of Ghana (SWAG) Sports Personality of the Year at the 46th SWAG Awards held at the Accra International Conference Centre.

He emerged winner after facing a stiff competition from the likes of Daniel Afriyie Barnieh from Accra Hearts of Oak and the 4x100m National Relay Team.

Takyi was also honored as the Amateur Boxer of the Year and took home an android phone and a StarTimes decoder with two months subscription.

Below is the full list of award winners on the night:

Footballer of the Year (Foreign)

Mohammed Kudus [Ajax]

Footballer of the Year (Home Based)

Daniel Afriyie Barnieh (Hearts of Oak)

Female Footballer of the Year – Female

Janet Egyir – Hasaacas Ladies

Club Coach of the Year

Yussif Basigi – Hasaacas Ladies

National Team of the Year

Coach Ofori Asare (Black Bombers)

Athlete of the Year (Male)

Benjamin Azamati

Athlete of the Year (Female)

Deborah Acquah

Boxer of the Year (Professional)

Alfred Lamptey

Boxer of the Year (Amateur)

Samuel Takyi – Featherweight

SWAG Top 5 (Discipline Rank)


Amateur Boxing


Table Tennis


Discovery of the Year

Fatawu Issahaku [Football/Steadfast]

Administrator of Year

George Okoe Lamptey (Ghana Boxing Federation)

SWAG President Award

Ken Bediako

Corporate Award

Betway Ghana


Life Time Achievement

Stephen Appiah

Meritorious Award

Togbe Afede XIV

Nana Bayin Eyison

Welbeck Abrah-Appiah

George Lamptey

Black Satellites

4x100m National Relay Team

Dedication and Valour

Lawyer Ntow Fianko

Oduro Nyarko

Chess Player of the Year

Philip Selikem Yao Amoako

Badminton Player of the Year

Kelvin Alphous – Male

Prospera Nantuo – Female

Tennis Player of the Year

Samuel Agbesi Antwi – Male

Naa Shika Mackorley – Female

Swimming Athlete of the Year

Unilez Takyi

The event was sponsored and partnered by MTN, GOIL, Ghana Free Zones Authority, Betboro, National Lottery Authority, ASKOF Production, Stanbic Bank, StarTimes, TT Brothers, Kofikrom Pharmacy, Phoenix Insurance, CW Studios, Accra Brewery Limited, Special Ice Mineral water, Blynxlive Ghana and GTV Sports+


46th MTN SWAG Awards is Friday, December 17

Previous article

Saddick Adams wins maiden SWAG Sports Journalist of the Year

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *