Press ReleaseSportsUncategorised

SWAG members graduate with distinction from AIPS eCollege


Seven young members of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana have successfully graduated from the maiden edition of the AIPS e-College.

With most countries under lockdown and sporting activities halted, AIPS decided to bring this Young Reporters Program together in virtual situation room to discuss the future that awaits sports journalism.

The three-month long program which began from 2nd April 2020 to 2nd June 2020 saw 100 Young Reporters from over 55 countries across the world participate in this virtual discussions with lessons held twice a week on zoom.

After an intensive E-College program, the Sports Writers Association of Ghana recorded a massive success. Six out of the seven entries from Ghana scored distinction in the Masters in Sports Management Program equivalent.

The young renowned reporters from SWAG were Miss Ayishatu Zakaria Ali, Miss Akosua Addae Amoo, Miss Lawrencia Akosua Adjei, Miss Mary Eshun, Miss Esther Osei, Master Gabriel Obu and Master Francis Pieterson.

Among the many things that these young reporters were taught, were understanding the context, establishing the facts, judging the circumstances and coming with a creative perspective. Furthermore, these young Reporters were tasked to produce articles after every class to have a comprehensive understanding of their journey throughout sports journalism.

They had the rare privilege of meeting and interacting with a tall list of 15 experts includin Michael Payne – former Director of Marketing / Broadcast Rights IOC, Edwin Moses – two-time olympic gold medalist, Francois Carrard – Doctor of Law, Sports and Law expert, Hans Hultman – FIFA Head of Media, Maurizia Cacciatori – sports Journalists and former volleyball champion, Lucia Montanarella – Head of Olympic Games Media Operations, Craig Reedie – former WADA President and IOC Member, Haile Gebrselassie – two-time olympic gold medalist, Eric Saintrond – FISU Secretary General, Danilo Gallinari – NBA star, Donna De Varona – olympic gold medalist, activist and sports broadcaster, Special Olympics & Fiona Hynes – Special Olympics Europe and Asia Director of Communications, FIFA esports & MoAuba – 2019 FIFA eWorld Cup champion, Nawal El Moutawakel – olympic gold medalist and IOC member, Jamil Chade – investigative reporter

Lessons were also given by mentors Martin Mazur, Keir Radnedge and Riccardo Romani and coordinated by AIPS President Gianni Merlo. Members of the AIPS Executive Committee and the AIPS Sport Media Awards jury who joined as observers.

Ayishatu Zakaria Ali, SWAG & AIPS Young Reporter

Chales Osei Asibey

Journals National Council for Osteopathic Research

Previous article

EURPLN kurs, notowania forex online

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *